To Top

Chimamanda Adichie’s Half of A Yellow Sun Bags A New Award

Half of a Yellow Sun has been named the best winner from the last decade of the women’s prize for fiction
In 2007 Adichie won the award then it was called the Orange Prize for Fiction for her second novel set during the Biafran war of the 1960s. A review of the last 10 years winners of the award saw Nigerian born Chimamanda Adichie emerging the best out of the best of the last decade.

Other winners of the Baileys Prize from the last decade include Zadie Smith for On Beauty, Rose Tremain for The Road Home and Eimear McBride for A Girl is a Half-formed Thing.

The winner of Best of the Best of the prize’s first decade in 2005 was Andrea Levy’s Small Island, which won the main title in 2004.
BBC news tweeted the announcement on the award on Monday, November 2.

SEE Tweets…

Adiche - Adiche
Adichie’s novel was chosen by the chairs of the judging panels from the last 10 years.

Responding to her winning the award, Adichie said

I am grateful and happy. This is a prize I have a lot of respect and admiration for.”
Fiction] brought wonderful literature to a wide readership that might not have found many of the books.
“I have a lot of respect for the books that have won in the past 10 years and also for the books that have been shortlisted – I feel I am in very good company.”

The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction was established in 1996 and was first known as the Orange Prize for Fiction. It is awarded to the best novel of the year written by a woman, with Baileys taking over sponsorship in 2014.

Half of a Yellow Sun, has been adapted into movie with the same title and was directed by Biyi Bandele. The film stars BAFTA winner and Academy award winner Chiwetel Ejiofor and BAFTA winner Thandie Newton.

The 10 winners of the second decade were:
2006 – On Beauty by Zadie Smith (Chair, Martha Kearney)
2007 – Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Chair, Muriel Gray)
2008 – The Road Home by Rose Tremain (Chair, Kirsty Lang)
2009 – Home by Marilynne Robinson (Chair, Fi Glover)
2010 – The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver (Chair, Daisy Goodwin)
2011 – The Tiger’s Wife by Téa Obreht (Chair, Bettany Hughes)
2012 – The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller (Chair, Joanna Trollope)
2013 – May We Be Forgiven by AM Homes (Chair, Miranda Richardson)
2014 – A Girl is a Half-formed Thing by Eimear McBride (Chair, Helen Fraser)
2015 – How to Be Both by Ali Smith (Chair, Shami Chakrabarti)

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in All

POPAfrica is a digital media and technology company created to solve a problem and that is to get new and more positive African voices heard globally.

While being cool, informative and entertaining :)

Copyright © 2015 Pop Africa. All Rights Reserved. Made in Africa